Associate Professor of Geography Abigail Neely announced to join the House Communities

Dean Scott C. Brown announced today that the three house communities will be led by new professors starting in Fall of 2023. These include Christopher MacEvitt, professor of religion,  for East Wheelock House, Naaborko Sackeyfio-Lenoch, associate professor of History, for West House, and Abigail Neely, associate professor of Geography, for School House. 

From the Office of Communications:

"The house community system launched in 2015 with the goal of giving all undergraduates the opportunity to belong to a residential community within the greater Dartmouth campus and to provide hubs for students, staff, and faculty to engage in social and intellectual activities together outside the classroom.

All undergraduates are assigned to one of six houses when they arrive as first-year students, and they maintain their affiliation to their house throughout their time at Dartmouth. Each house is overseen by a member of the faculty—the house professor—who lives in a single-family home on campus.

"At their best, universities represent a blending of residential and intellectual life," says Neely, whose partner, Alexander, sons Liam and Theo, and golden retriever, Izzy, will join her in the South House residence. "The house system is the key site for this at Dartmouth, extending the classroom and offering a place for students, faculty, and staff to learn together. It is such a privilege to be a part of this—the university at its best."

The importance of the residential experience to learning was evident during the COVID-19 pandemic, underlining the need "to meet each other in community with care," Neely says. "I see the house communities as central to this, as spaces of radical care and compassion and as essential to building a better, stronger Dartmouth for the future.""

Read the full article here.